11 Students Win Distinguished Youth Awards

    Eleven students from the Dix Hills, Huntington Station and Melville area were recently honored by Suffolk County Legislator Tom Donnelly as Gold, Silver or Bronze recipients of the inaugural Suffolk County Legislature’s Distinguished Youth Awards.

  Earning the awards after completion of an extensive year-long program, they were recognized with medals and certificates in a special ceremony held at the Suffolk County Legislature’s William H. Rogers Building in Hauppauge on Wednesday, July 18.

    The Distinguished Youth Award program was created last year. The program centers on four categories: Volunteer Service, Personal Development, Exploration and Physical Fitness and focuses on a holistic approach to challenge Suffolk County’s youth to take initiative, become more civically engaged in their communities, and to begin a journey of personal growth. Students dedicate themselves to completing requirements in two, three or all four categories for Bronze, Silver or Gold recognition, respectively.

  Each category can require up to 100 or more hours of activity that must be logged and certified. In addition, students complete personal interviews in the Legislator’s office at the onset of the program and then at the completion. The program is open to all Suffolk County Youths between the ages of 13 and 18.

Legislative District 17 students who earned 2017-2018 Distinguished Youth Awards were:

  • Allyson Clark, Gold – Walt Whitman High School
  • Carly Dammer, Gold– Walt Whitman High School
  • Katherine Miata, Gold – Walt Whitman High School
  • Alyssa Chillemi, Silver – Walt Whitman High School
  • Lauren Gotard, Silver – Walt Whitman High School
  • Samantha Carey, Bronze – Walt Whitman High School
  • Shannyn Cory, Bronze – Walt Whitman High School
  • Brooke Donovan, Bronze – Walt Whitman High School
  • Priya Katwala, Bronze – Walt Whitman High School
  • Cameron Repetti, Bronze – Walt Whitman High School
  • Gianna Tantillo, Bronze – Half Hollow Hills High School East

“I commend all of these remarkable students for their commitment and enthusiasm and am impressed by the initiative they demonstrated by embarking on the program, as well as their dedication to sticking with it to completion,”  Donnelly said.

Registration is under way for the 2018-2019 Distinguished Youth Awards Program. More information and applications are available on the Suffolk County Legislature’s website at:

https://www.scnylegislature.us/896/Distinguished-Youth-Award. Deadline for application submission is September 30.

Pictured left, Suffolk Legislator Tom Donnelly (D-Huntington Station), honors Walt Whitman High School students at the inaugural Suffolk County Distinguished Youth Awards ceremony on July 18 in Hauppauge, joined, starting second from right WWHS Assistant Dean Corey Blair and Principal John Murphy.

Leave a Reply