3 States Added to New York Travel Quarantine List

  Three states were added to the New York quarantine list, Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo said Tuesday.

Ohio, Michigan and Virginia have been added to the list that requires that individuals coming from those states must self-quarantine when they visit New York.

 The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

The Covid-10 positivity rate in the “hotzones” of New York State rose to 4.13 percent, up from 3.7 percent th day before. The “Red Zone” focus areas have 2.8 percent of the state’s population, yet had 12.3 percent of all positive cases reported Monday. 

“Our numbers overall continue to remain steady, despite the micro-clusters that have popped up in certain pockets of the state. Our strategy is to continue to identify these clusters if and when they pop up, get even more refined in our targeting and attack them as needed,” Cuomo said. “As we go into the fall, and the numbers nationwide are going up, we must work to keep our numbers down – and that’s going to take every New Yorker wearing their masks, socially distancing and being New York Tough to maintain our progress.”

These are the states on the travel advisory.

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

The state’s overall positivity rate is 1.4 percent with focus areas included. 


Leave a Reply