Budgets Pass, Incumbents Re-Elected in Huntington, Elwood, Harborfields, Northport

Voters in the Huntington and Elwood school districts approved proposed budgets Tuesday, and re-elected incumbents to their Boards of Education.

In Huntington, Kelly Donovan and Xavier Palacios were re-elected over challenger Amaru Jones. Palacios had  963 votes, Donovan 875  and Jones 651. The budget passed, 1,184-192.

In Elwood, the budget was approved, 1,278 to 508, and incumbents Dr. Sara Siddiqui, with 1,179 votes, and Tom Scarola with 1,228 votes, defeated challengers Erin Aebisher, who received 609 votes and Chris Fox, with 458 votes.

Board president James Tomeo said, “We thank the community for their support, and for passing Proposition 2, which will provide for safety  enhancements at our schools.”

Harborfields voters passed their budget, 1,273 -286. Incumbent President Christopher Kelly and member David Steinberg were each re-elcted with, Kelly receiving 1,146 votes, and Steinberg 1,085. Challengers Meghan Grote Shear received 356 votes and Rose Wyka received 377 votes.

But voters in Cold Spring Harbor, while approving the budget,  779-332, rejected incumbent Tara Belfi (542 votes) and chose Kate Dellicarpini (617), William Wollman (616) and Lisa Smith (599).

In Northport, with two seats open, incumbents Donna McNaughton was re-elected with 2,275 votes and David Badanes with 2,174. Amanda Cascio finished third with 1,147.

The budget was approved 1,839-1,315.

South Huntington voters okayed the budget, 824-318.

Incumbents Andrew Bronson (941) and Sidney Joyner (868) were re-elected.

Half Hollow Hills voters  approved the budget, 1,415-434, re-elected incumbents Diana Acampora 1,288 and Michael Prywes 988, and elected John Mathew 1,128.

Donovan and Palacios, with Superintendent James W. Polansky

This story will update.

Leave a Reply