Newcomers Elected in Huntington, Harborfields; Elwood Picks Incumbents

2nd update: Huntington residents chose two newcomers, Theresa Sullivan and Thomas Galvin, and board president Christine Biernacki, to serve on the school board Tuesday night, while ousting one incumbent.

South Huntington’s Board of Education will add a non-voting student member after residents approved the proposal. They also okayed selling a teen center building. Two incumbents, Ed Nitkewicz and Linda LaCara, along with newcomer Erin Meijer were elected.

Northport residents sent the proposed budget down to defeat, 2,069-1,902,while returning Victoria Buscareno to office. Challenger Carol Taylor was also elected.

In Harborfields, voters chose two challengers, Susan Broderick and Dr. Eve Meltzer Krief, and incumbent Suzie Lustig  for the board. They also approved the budget,1,422-346.

In Elwood, residents returned president James Tomeo and Heather Mammolito  to another term on the school board. The vote was Bryan Johnson – 709, Amy Kern – 758 Heather Mammolito – 940 and James Tomeo – 1,056. The budget passed, 1,294-481.

Huntington voted to approve their spending plan of $139,315,854  and gave the go-ahead to a capital reserve proposition.  Biernacki was the top vote getter with 914, followed by Sullivan with 856 and Galvin with 786.



Leave a Reply