Schools Recognize Local Students

The following students from the Huntington area have been recognized for their achievements at college.

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Sixty spring student-athletes, including the following local student-athletes, represented WPI on their respective NEWMAC Academic All-Conference teams.

Kathleen Nugent of Huntington Station

Mary Sheehan of Halesite

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2017 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at their institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Bryant University

Bryant University is committed to the pursuit, recognition, and celebration of academic excellence, and extends congratulations to the students who have been named to the Dean’s List for the fall 2017 semester:

Rebecca Demarest, class of 2018 from Commack

Justin Gottlieb, class of 2018 from Huntington

Kelly Jacobsen, class of 2020 from Northport

Jake Wiener, class of 2019 from Commack

Bryant University named Kelly Jacobsen, class of 2020, from Northport,  to the President’s List for the fall 2017 semester.

The President’s List is an academic distinction reserved for Bryant’s highest achievers who earn a GPA of 4.0 or better for at least 12 semester hours of work.

Phi Alpha Theta

Kelly Tenbus of Huntington was one of ten SUNY Oneonta students to receive an award at SUNY Oneonta’s History Department Awards & Phi Alpha Theta Induction Ceremony. Tenbus is studying Secondary Education at SUNY Oneonta. Tenbus was the Short Essay Winner for “Understanding the Great War Through Poetry.”

Tenbus is studying Secondary Education at SUNY Oneonta.


Beta Beta Beta

Local residents were among 54 University of Scranton students inducted into Beta Beta Beta, the national honor society for biology. For induction into the honor society, students must have completed at least three biology courses, maintained at least a 3.0 grade point average in biology, and be in good academic standing at the University.

Corinne Freivald of Huntington Station, a sophomore majoring in biology, cell, molecular biology

Giancarlo Montovano of Huntington, a senior majoring in biology, cell, molecular biology

The University of Scranton is a Jesuit university located in Northeastern Pennsylvania.

Chi Alpha Sigma National Honor Society

SUNY New Paltz recognizes student athletes inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma National Honor Society:

Paige Gladstone of Melville

Danielle Bruno of Dix Hills

Jaclyn Donaldson-Hawkins of Huntington

Student-athletes recognized at the annual Chi Alpha Sigma National Honor Society ceremony on Wednesday, April 18, 2018, earned a varsity letter in at least one sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulative GPA throughout their junior and senior year. A total of 38 student-athletes were honored at the ceremony.

Chi Alpha Epsilon

SUNY New Paltz student Elijah Benton of Huntington will be inducted into Chi Alpha Epsilon at the College’s 16th Annual Chi Alpha Epsilon (XAE) Induction Ceremony, Friday, May 4.

Chi Alpha Epsilon was formed to recognize the academic achievements of students admitted to colleges and the universities through non-traditional criteria, including the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) at SUNY New Paltz. Its purposes are to promote continued high academic standards, to foster increased communication among its members, and to honor academic excellence achieved by those students admitted to college via developmental programs.

The event will officially recognize the academic achievements of 57 EOP undergraduates who had been admitted to the College through opportunity programs and who have maintained grade-point averages above 3.0 for at least two consecutive semesters, and 35 standing members who have earned an upgrade distinction.


Pomfret School

Students named to this list earned a grade point average of 3.670 and received no grade lower than a B for the winter 2017-2018 term.

Edward Brambil of Huntington from the Class of 2019

Nathaniel Schuman of Cold Spring Harbor from the Class of 2019

Founded in 1894, Pomfret School is an independent college preparatory school for boarding and day students in grades 9 through 12.


The following local residents were recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

Randy Curth of Huntington  was initiated at Long Island University.

Arielle Dukofsky of Dix Hills  was initiated at University of Maryland, College Park.

Rebecca Gaviola of Dix Hills  was initiated at Long Island University.

Emily Halper of Dix Hills  was initiated at Long Island University.

Devon Heise of Lloyd Harbor was initiated at Long Island University.

Chris Petrosino of Dix Hills  was initiated at Long Island University.

Kelly Powers of Melville  was initiated at Long Island University.

Edward Thompson-Hiross of Halesite  was initiated at Long Island University.

These residents are among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership.

Leave a Reply