Schools: Volunteerism Projects, Essay Scholarship

Half Hollow Hills East student Sari Strizik is a recipient of the President’s Gold Volunteer Service Award, that was started by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation in 2003 as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by example, inspired others to engage in volunteer service.

To be eligible as a young adult, one must volunteer over 250 hours during a 12-month period! Sari is the DECA Club president and has been the organizer of our yearly prize basket fundraiser which has raised over $7,000 the past three years for various charities.

Scholarship for Essay on Communism

Northport High School senior Luke Cacic recently won the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation student essay competition. 

   He was the sole winner of the foundation’s high school scholarship, winning the grand prize of $2,000. 

 To win the scholarship, Luke wrote an essay on the Berlin Wall and the ills of communism. His essay evaluated former President Ronald Reagan’s first impression of the Berlin Wall, in which he said, “It’s as ugly as the idea behind it.”

   The Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation is a non-profit organization whose mission is to educate a new generation. about the history and legacy of communism. 

Cold Spring Harbor Students Complete Tech Program

lyse Schetty and Paige Vegna  graduated from the BAE WiT (Women in Technology) program this fall. There were 15 students from 7 high schools in the program this year, of approximately 40 students who applied. The application included teacher recommendations, transcripts, and an essay and answers to specific questions. 

One of the questions this year was, “If you were given a box full of pencils, list 5 things you could do with them that are not their traditional use.”

Feeding the Hungry

Huntington High School students  helped prepare and serve meals for HIHI guests (Huntington Interfaith Homeless Initiative) at St. John’s Church on Friday. Participants included Alexa Amorison, Brian Contreras, Jordan Forte, Aiden Franznick, Lucas Kelly, Tim Kusterbeck, Isabella Lima, Keenan Lyons, Charlotte Maggio, Shyann Maragh, Ethan McGuinness. Maddie Reed and Sadie Walters.

Leave a Reply