Suffolk Credit Union Names New, Re-Elected Board Members

Suffolk Credit Union has announced new and re-elected members of its Board of Directors. Bryan S. Mastrangelo, a Suffolk County Police Department officer, joins the Board while James J. Maggio, Jr. and Edward J. Reilly were reelected, all to serve three-year terms.

Mastrangelo is an officer with the Suffolk County Police Department and a former detective with the Waterfront Commission of New York Harbor Police Department. He has more than 24 years of service with the United States Coast Guard, achieving the rank of Senior Chief Boatswain’s Mate and serving from 2015-2020 as Command Senior Chief of Sector Southeastern New England.

He serves on the Board of Trustees of the LT Michael P. Murphy Navy SEAL Museum and Sea Cadet Training Facility and as Sergeant at Arms for the Suffolk County Police Veterans Association. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Touro University.

“Bryan has admirably served our country and community through his illustrious record in the police department and Coast Guard as well as local volunteer work,” said Michele Dean, CEO & President, Suffolk Credit Union. “We are proud to have such an accomplished and brave American hero on our Board.”

James J. Maggio, Jr. has been a member of Suffolk Credit Union for more than 41 years and a member of its Board of Directors since 2008. He holds a Certified Credit Union Director designation from the Credit Union Executive Society. Mr. Maggio retired from Suffolk County after a 34-year career in which he held the titles of Assistant Budget Director in the County Executive’s Office and Assistant Deputy Police Commissioner in the Suffolk County Police Department. He earned his Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of Massachusetts and an MBA from Adelphi University.

Edward J. Reilly has been a credit union member since 1974 and a Suffolk Federal volunteer since 1981. Mr. Reilly is a retired Supervisor of the Suffolk County Water Authority and former Chief of the Patchogue Fire Department. He also served as President of All Suffolk Backflow, member of the Board of Cedar Grove Cemetery since 1981, member and chairperson of Davis Park, Fire Island Fire district from 1978 to 2002 and past President of Local 393 AFL-CIO Utility Workers’ Union of America.

“Jim and Ed have demonstrated remarkable commitment to our Suffolk Credit Union family as well as our local communities for many years. We are fortunate and honored to have them serve on our Board,” commented Ms. Dean. “They bring to their positions a range of notable achievements and expertise that greatly benefit our credit union and all of its members.”

The new and reelected Board members were announced at the credit union’s annual meeting held at its Medford headquarters in May 2023.

About Suffolk Credit Union
Suffolk Credit Union is a local not-for-profit cooperative financial institution owned and operated by its members. It was chartered in 1967 by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA). The volunteer-directed credit union has assets in excess of $1.6 billion, 10 branches and over 66,000 members, including partnerships with Suffolk County employees and unions. Membership is open to anyone who lives, works, worships, attends school or regularly conducts business in Nassau and Suffolk counties as well as immediate family members of current membership. To learn more, visit or call 631-924-8000.


Leave a Reply