Board Names Residents to Town Committees

The Town Board on Tuesday voted to appoint and reappoint several new and returning members to the Huntington Environmental Open Space and Park Fund Advisory (EOSPA) Committee, the Huntington Greenway Trails Citizen’s Advisory Committee and the Huntington Beautification Council.

James Wright, supervisor of physical education, health, athletics and recreation at the South Huntington School District, will now join the 12 other volunteer EOSPA Committee members for monthly meetings and periodic property site visits. The committee, formed in 1998, works to beautify the town by recommending potential properties to officials for purchase and preservation and managing improvements to nearby neighborhoods and parks. Meetings are usually held at 2 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month.

Wright’s appointment to the board comes just after the Suffolk County Legislature appointed him as the Huntington representative to the Suffolk County Board of Trustees of Parks, Recreation and Conservation in early March. The length of his EOSPA term will mirror his County Park Trustee term.

In keeping with town beautification, the town reappointed Sandra Prior, Barbara Wildfeir, Judith Werber, John Pryputniewicz and Virginia Muller to the Huntington Beautification Council. The five will attend monthly meetings at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesdays, and make recommendations to the board regarding landscaping, litter control and property improvements—like planting flowers and trees. She will serve on the council through Dec. 31, 2023. All other reappointed members will complete their terms in 2022.

Town officials also appointed Richard Meyer, the park steward coordinator for the Town Conservation Board, and Charles Bravo, a member of Concerned Long Island Mountain Bicyclists, to the Greenway Trails Citizen’s Advisory Committee, a volunteer group of hikers, runners, bicyclists and conservationists that helps the town identify and map park trails. Both Mr. Meyer and Mr. Bravo will serve on the committee through December 31, 2022. The following members were reappointed to the committee: Committee Chair Laura McKellar, Simone DaRos, Laurie Farber, Lynn Geisler, Marvin Glassman, Barbara Haerter, Bruce Howe and Ginny Munger-Kahn.

Petrone Drops In to Celebrate Birthday of ALS Ride Founder


Leave a Reply