School Budgets Pass; Most Incumbents Returned to Office

Voters approved school budgets, often by wide margins, and incumbent Board of Education trustees did well in voting Tuesday.

One exception was Cold Spring Harbor, which ousted its school board president.

South Huntington re-elected board president Nick Ciappetta and elected newcomer William Biangasso, both to three-year terms, with 916 and 722 votes, respectively. Frederick Scragg was elected with 675 votes to fill the remaining two years of the term left vacant by the resignation of Ed Nitkewicz in December. He was immediately sworn into office Tuesday night.

The South Huntington budget passed, 907-327, as did two propositions to allow the sale of property at 2 Melville Road and at Central Field.

In Harborfields, the budget passed easily, 1,655 to 353.

Re-elected were trustees Hansen Lee (1,490) and Colleen Wolcott (1,530), over newcomer David Balistreri (603).

In the Huntington district, two incumbents, William Dwyer and Michele Kustera were re-elected, while the budget (834-150) and two spending propositions passed.

School Superintendent James W. Polansky said on the school website, “On behalf of the Board of Education and administration, please accept my sincerest gratitude for your support of the Huntington School District’s 2022-2023 budget and capital propositions. Your approval will help us to further our ongoing commitment toward addressing the needs of students across the grade levels in a fiscally responsible manner and in the wake of a challenging two-year period.”

The Cold Spring Harbor  budget passed, 817-276, but board president Amelia Walsh Brogan lost with 496 votes, with voters choosing Alice Whelehan (888) and Bruce Sullivan (648).

Northport voters approved the budget, 2,285-1,674, and re-elected three incumbents, Larry Licopoli (2,528), Allison Noonan (2,676) and Thomas Loughran (2,729, over newcomer Frank Labate (1,754).

In Elwood, trustee Deborah Weiss was re-elected with 965 votes over challenger Sean A. Camas, with 183 votes. The budget passed 804 to 396.

Half Hollow Hills voters returned Eric Geringswald (1,483) and David Kaston (1,450) to office, while approving the budget, 1,792-524, and a separate voting proposition by an even larger margin,1,848-451.

Scragg sworn in by Laura McLean.



Leave a Reply